Cherish the Child - A Christmas Celebration

  1. Ramble to Cashel
  2. Carol of the Bells
  3. Jesu, Joy of Man's Desiring
  4. What Child is This?
  5. Queen's Moor
  6. Comfort and Joy/God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen
  7. O Lux Beata
  8. O Come O Come, Emmanuel
  9. Silent Night
The season of Christmas and Winter Solstice is magical, no matter where you are in the world or what culture you call your own. All over the planet, it is the time of the Rebirth of Light, a celebration of the miracle of the Holy Child. That Child is well known in many traditions, but it is also in us. It is our own Cherished Child.

It is with this vision that The Royal Kona Harp Ensemble offers this powerfully unique, shimmering collection of seasonal music for three harps, woodwinds and voice. The spiritually polyphonous strains of the chorused harps bring new life into some traditional favorites, as well as offer you a few of their own. Pieces like "Carol of The Bells" dance with the familiar rhythm of this Yuletide song, yet take you higher into the clouds into realms new and bright. Lilting, somewhat free form interpretations of "What Child is This?" and "God Rest Ye, Merry Gentlemen" ("Comfort and Joy") paint a sonic picture of moving aural horizons which bring us into lands we've not yet known, yet seem comfortingly familiar.

In "Cherish The Child", The Royal Kona Harp Ensemble awakens the spirit of the holy child in all of us, that part which is fresh, new, loving and hungry for the wondrous and the possible. The Child, like Christmas time, emits a vibration of love and hope, the coming of better things for us as sovereign spirits, as well as our world.